you are awesome. i love you.

 bowsta

Perhaps self improvement or self growth boils down to this:

the ability to change the way one perceives oneself.

Many changes are happening in my life leaving me with a feeling of What is my purpose? And not in the big existential way of being a human (I have actually sat with/faced that question many times!), but moreso in a practical way: How do I serve in my life? What is my role?

What wonderful questions! I’m thankful I get the opportunity to ask them. I feel motivated to write this post because, amid these questions & life transitions, I was forgetting to be believing in myself 100%. I was having self-doubt, which was leading to un-direction, which was leading to a pervasive feeling of what now, which didn’t feel very comfortable!

And then I messaged an old friend I hadn’t seen for a while. He looked so regal, happy, strong & thoroughly plumbed and filled with life-force energy. I messaged him and said so, and what stuck out to me in his response was this. Very simple this:

You are awesome. I love you. 

That was exactly what I needed to hear. I came back to that throughout the day. You are awesome. I love you. Repeating this beautiful affirmation to myself. Allowing myself to believe it.

It seems like an impossibility to let this affirmation slip in between the cracks of the powerful and formidable self-doubt, but it did.

And that is why I start this piece of with

Perhaps self improvement or self growth boils down to this:

the ability to change the way one perceives oneself.

For since he relayed that to me, I have been repeating it to myself & it raises & supports me. It clears my head, grounds me, allows me to start from a healthy place instead of a squirming floundering lack of belief.

The question seems to be: How willing am I to give that affirmation a chance to slip into becoming my belief about myself? How willing am I to allow myself to perceive myself as awesome and worthy of love? Sure the platitudes preach that I am this, yet to truly believe it?

It is the 1 in a million chance of re-wiring my own brain to see a new way of perceiving myself. Perhaps self improvement or self growth always boils down to this. And this again. And again.

I wish you a wonderful evening of self love. Try believing this: You are awesome. I love you.

3 thoughts on “you are awesome. i love you.

What are your thoughts?

