The Joys of Being Materialistic

Today
Tonight is a time for absolute joy and thanks giving
I got to share holy basil, Tulsi, tea with three people today, who hadn’t met her before
That’s delightfully unique,
One of them said and we all agreed.

Tulsi, for those of you who don’t know, is a holy plant in India, an adaptogen (targets any stressors in the body and aids those systems), and one of my personal favorites. A plant I think is helping to save the world (along with nettles, Jerusalem Artichokes, kale and yams). Because of its holy status in India (the plant is revered as a literal embodied goddess),
I have heard this plant mentioned when people talk about Martin Buber’s I-Thou philosophy, essentially a circuitous way to say Namaste to another entity, to sacralize all things through our way of perceiving.

I had some wonderful visitors today and got to mow the lawn, which was challenging as I started off with an old fashioned push- mower and seeing how the grass is long, dandelioned, and wet (another day of rain here, folks!), that was quite challenging. We also have a nice what looks like European gas-powered model on deck, so I donned some ear muffs and vroomed around, making sure to leave patches of wildflowers and herbs and puddles.

I am seeking a bath right now, it’s been many days, and although I am enchanted by my own smell, some warm inundation sounds awfully nice.

And sparking conversations today. Exactly what I envisioned as I decided to take this role here at forest farm. My friend Jennings, a youthful inventor and illustrator many times my age, joined me this morning for tea and breakfast and chatter about hot button issues. One cool thing about Jennings is that he is creating some multi use tractors that are also road safe and can run on veggie oil (well, this is my request). He’s outfitting them so they’re easy to maintain/fix by those of us without mechanical skillz and to be as multi purpose as they can get. Today I ventured the thought that Ini and I can ride around in one in October with our pendulums, dowsing maps along the way as we search for a place to land and cocreate.

Two other guests from New York also ventured by for some ultimately invigorating conversation. I am amazed by the alignment in the universe, how all parts are moving and weaving and feeding one another. It’s like this mutual eating that souls do, where one provides the fodder, the other the empty cup and rotating they go, and then switch dance roles either with each other or get a new partner.

From this encounter I am inspired to write more, with intention, and to continue sharing from the heart.

Some favorite lines from Rilke are coming to mind

You, sent out beyond your recall,
Go to the limits of your longing
Embody me

Flare up like a flame
and make big shadows I can move in.

Let everything happen to you: beauty and terror.
Just keep going. No feeling is final.
Don’t let yourself lose me.

there is this unity I long for and an effervescence of the shimmering moments when we are truly alive. One visitor told me that eventually we reach times where we can live in this state, really not requiring food but living on pure prana.

A friend yesterday wrote, God let me be one of you

And it set me aflame again.

There is the desire and then the union of being a self and then cracking open in service to the whole, of being a self and then a whole self, a self of the whole.

As Jennings and I were coming up with slogans earlier for an image he wants to make viral, kind of like a modern day peace sign, but more concerned with the health of the earth and the role we play, This one crossed our foreground:

We are the earth, let’s speak up for ourself.

It has many times been said that we are the hands of the earth, and literally this is true. As we eat earth to sustain our bodies, what are we but the part of the earth with human hands and features. Terrestrial we are. And as one of the visitors from New York mentioned a writer he likes challenges that we are not materialistic enough- we are consumptive, yes, but to be truly , literally materialistic we would care a great deal more for our relationship with the material world of which we are inextricably a part.

I’m hoping the water heater has decided to work now. Reflections?

One thought on “The Joys of Being Materialistic

  1. Oh, there is a comment place! I am happy for the material comment place, I am glad and grateful that you have kept this blog up for so long for me to return to. I read about Tulsi tea here in new first light. I didn’t know this about the tea, its specific emotional target, and history. Thank you for sharing a cup.

What are your thoughts?

